About Data Levels

What is Level 3 Data?

There are 3 principal levels of information for a payment transaction:

  • Level 1 (Standard): the standard financial data captured for a Credit or Debit Card transaction.

  • Level 2 (Summary VAT): Level 1 plus a customer reference code and summarised VAT total.

  • Level 3 (Line Item Detail): Level 2 plus Line Item Detail descriptions for the goods or services provided with individual VAT amounts for Purchasing Card transactions. Typically the equivalent data to that found on an conventional Invoice. 

Level 3 Data Types:
  • VGIS (Visa Global Invoicing Specification): the standard format for Visa Purchasing Card transactions. Widely adopted as a standard format due to it's comprehensive mandatory data requirements and ability to be easily converted to LID.

  • LID (Line Item Detail): the standard format for Mastercard Purchasing Card transactions.

  • LIDA: the standard format for Amex CPC (Corporate Purchasing Card) transactions.

  • Bespoke: specialist supplementary data specific to a particular organisation that is captured and delivered outside of the standard Level 1-3 banking data.

Typical information captured for each data level:

Interactive Transaction Solutions Ltd

Midland House

1 Market Avenue


West Sussex

PO19 1JU





Support (FR):

0808 1688 509

0808 1688 507

+44 (0)1243 218 849

  • LinkedIn

Copyright © 2020 Interactive Transaction Solutions Ltd. All rights reserved